Dreaming of a Green Christmas

I hail from Colorado and as a Rocky Mountain gal, most of the Christmas seasons I recall were snowy. Once I married and was stationed at various warm climate duty stations with my military husband, I’d pine for the white Christmases of my childhood.

Once we settled in Montana over 20 years ago, I welcomed those snowy holidays again. But this winter has been a particularly harsh one with a lingering arctic blast sending temperatures plummeting below zero. This frigid weather and inundation of snowfall is typically not experienced until January and February. Needless to say, I’m craving warmth and sunshine; dreaming of a green Christmas is more like it!

3120b97c-9b34-4337-9f5f-aa0e5c1f2c62

Thankfully, a glass of Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand with its crisp grapefruit zing and grassy aromas transports me to southern climes, if only in my reveries.

I’ve enjoyed a gamut of Kiwi Sauvignon Blancs from either end of the price spectrum. From Cloudy Bay to Smart Cookie, each bottle is a vicarious voyage to sunny shores. This 2015 vintage of Prophecy is no exception. It’s the color of golden sunbeams with a tinge of grassy green. Aromas of grapefruit, lemon zest, and freshly mown lawn lead to a flavor burst of mandarin orange, granny smith apple and gooseberry.

f63991f0-bcd7-4bf3-9138-9be2d3d88561

It’s the mouthwatering acidity that I adore about this wine and of southern hemisphere Sauvignon Blancs in general. Each zippy sip explodes in citrusy goodness and then wipes the palate clean. Subsequent sips are just as impactful. It’s almost oxymoronic for a wine to be so light bodied yet simultaneously so intense. Such an intoxicating juxtaposition!

Prophecy wines feature varietals from different locations, and this Sauvignon Blanc is sourced from vineyards in the Marlborough region on the northeast corner of New Zealand’s South Island. It’s a veritable vacation to southern sunshine, certainly what I’m dreaming of this cold December day!

So as the snow continues to fall into a thick blanket of white and the mercury hovers at the zero Fahrenheit mark, I’ll be sipping my grassy Sauvignon Blanc under an imaginary sunny summer sky.

cc39e116-4c3f-4a2d-a7e5-09107cb824cb

4 thoughts on “Dreaming of a Green Christmas

  1. What a wonderful review, Lili. Love the blending of personal recollections with the precise description of the wine’s attributes. Nicely done. Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

